Lupin Protein Bread

Lupin Protein Bread_6073_wm_1x1

Anyone who follows Chocolate Chilli Mango on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram …

wait!  hey, that’s a great idea … do it!  🙂

But, yes, if you do, you will have noticed a steady stream of photos about all the fantastic chocolates I’ve made in my chocolates and pralines classes over recent weeks.  I’ve had a blast, but I’ll leave all the gushing about chocster heaven for another time … or the Facebook page, Twitter and Instagram (see??? do it!)

Spending all day slaving over a tank of chocolate, sometimes several, making fillings, molding and dipping does not make you crave chocolate.  It leaves you seriously hungry for some substantial healthy fare.   So I’m still eating healthy and making my protein breads every few days.   I was so taken by the success of making muffins with lupin flour and I’m still getting requests for low carb baking that I thought, why not a full on, no holds barred, take no prisoners lupin bread?   Would it work?  Would it be better than those wimpy attempts at adding lupin flour to wheat bread you can buy in the supermarket?

Would it also be gluten-free?  Yeast free?  With no added vegetable oils or icky ingredients?

Would it be high in dietary fibre?  High in protein?  Low in fat just as a bonus?

Could I possibly make it delicious?

Is brilliant too strong a word?  I’d be going for genius but hey, let’s be humble.  This is brilliant!

The lupini bean is a legume and has been identified as a potential allergen, as are peanuts and other legumes.  If you have a peanut or legume allergy, you might want to exercise caution.  However, if you are OK with lupini beans and lupin flour, this bread is fantastic.

It’s got a light open texture and a lovely sweet nutty flavour.  The colour is amazing, almost as golden as polenta!  I used egg whites in the recipe, but if you use whole organic free-range eggs, you might want to don a pair of sunglasses before slicing into this yummy loaf.

This bread is fantastic with both sweet and savoury foods.  I’m currently enjoying it with cheese, both hard and soft cheeses, including ricotta and cottage cheese and sharp grana padano.  It is delicious topped with butter, nut butters, jams, yoghurt and fresh fruit, salad and chicken, mustard, salmon, grilled vegetables, bacon, eggs, anything.

As I’d just opened a fresh pack of hemp seeds, I threw a few in to the loaf.  OK, now we’re tipping the scales into genius territory … it works.  It is sensational to be honest.  I’m guessing you could use chia, pumpkin, flax, or any seeds you like and it would work.  Just for extra goodness and some texture and flavour.

If you are low-carbing, and I know many of you are in your quest to lose body fat in 2013 (don’t cave, it’s only January!), then this bread could be for you.

I hope you enjoy it.  I’m loving it.

Seriously, I’m never buying bread again.  It’s just too easy and delicious to make a gluten-free loaf full of goodness at home.

Go ahead, make this bread!

Lupin Protein Bread_6075_wm_1x1

Makes 1 loaf  (21cm x 10cm loaf tin)

Ingredients
315 grams egg whites (or 6 large eggs)
110 grams lupin flour (I use this one)
35 grams unflavoured whey protein isolate (I used Professional Whey NZ WPI or substitute whey concentrate, or rice protein)
15 grams coconut flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Optional Additions:
20 grams hulled hemp seeds or substitute about two tablespoons of chia, flax, pumpkin, or sesame seeds, or whatever you like.

*If you prefer to make this bread without protein powders added, simply omit the whey protein from the recipe.  Substitute an extra 35 grams of lupin flour or 12 grams of coconut flour instead.

Directions
Preheat the oven to 180℃.

Grease a loaf tin lightly with coconut oil spray (or PAM) or line the tin with silicone paper, if not using a silicon mold.

Add all the ingredients to a large mixing bowl and mix or whisk together until blended and the batter is smooth.   The batter will be fairly thin but the whey and coconut flour will absorb a great deal of moisture during baking.

Transfer to the prepared loaf tin and bake for 25 to 30 minutes until risen and golden and a skewer, inserted into the centre, comes out clean.  Do not over bake this bread or the loaf will dry out.

Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.  Store, well wrapped, in a freezer bag in the fridge or freezer.  It will last for up to a week, stored in the refrigerator.  It will last longer if you slice it and store, wrapped, in the freezer.

Lupin Protein Bread_6076_wm_1x1

Macronutrient Profile
I have included macros for both the plain and hemp seed versions, with all macros based on the ingredients as stated.

I used egg whites for this recipe, but obviously whole eggs will work extremely well.  Whole eggs would also provide a host of more micronutrients and make this bread even more golden, if that is possible!

Lupin Protein Bread_macros_plain version

Plain Version

with Hemp Seeds

with Hemp Seeds

25 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Breads & Quickbreads, Low Carb, Protein, Protein Bread, Special Diet

25 responses to “Lupin Protein Bread

  1. Gladys

    Good morning, Viviane,
    This looks absolutely fantastic! Do the slices stay firm?

    Can one prepare a sandwich between two slices, and hold together?

    Would you kindly provide me with the size of your loaf pan?
    The nutritional breakdown describes a serving as 1/6 th of the loaf… Therefore I am curious as to the thickness of that slice of bread!

    The bread is such a lovely golden colour… Is is the Lupin flour that is so yellow? It is so very appetizing! Wow!

    I have to seek and find Lupin Flour!

    Can you describe the taste, please!

    Oh, boy…I don’t want much, here, just the sun, moon and stars!

    Hope your heatwave has eased, as your extreme weather has hit our news waves!

    Regards,
    Gladys

    • Hello Gladys,
      Yes, as you can see from the photos in the post, the loaf slices easily as any bread would do. This is a proper bread, albeit without yeast or a sourdough starter.
      The loaf tin size is given in the recipe. it is the standard loaf I use. A relatively small-medium sized tin as this suits my consumption cycle but also because I like to change breads every few days.

      Gladys, i recommend you read the post as I do answer all your questions there!

      This bread is really good. I just had a few slices toasted, for breakfast 🙂

      A beautiful day here in Melbourne today but more heat to come. Lots of bushfires still raging unfortunately and homes and lives lost. It’s a tragedy that will occur every year now, I fear.

      I hope you and yours are all well
      Viviane

  2. This looks so yummy that I might just have to resurrect my healthy everything cooking that I used to be into years ago, time to go buy some different flours I think :-). At the moment I just do healthy breakfast muffins – I’ll share the recipe if you’re interested? Thanks for the inspiration! Fx

  3. Scott

    Do you have any recommendations for a lupin flour substitute? I live in the U.S. and lupin flour seems very hard to find.

    • HI Scott,
      you can get it in the US! Lopino has started up in California and has a really good philosophy about food (originally a German company and they work closely with Irwin Valley here in Australia): http://www.lopino.com/ You can find out where to buy their products directly from them.

      Otherwise, just substitute another flour directly for it … quinoa, oat, etc. I think quinoa is perhaps the best substitute as it has a reasonable amount of protein in it. The reason I’ve been experimenting with lupin flour is due to its very low carbohydrate, high protein, low fat and high fibre content. That’s very impressive. Plus studies have shown it to be beneficial for people with diabetes and to lower cholesterol, amongst other things. I wouldn’t make this all the time, just as I wouldn’t have peanut butter all the time. As potential allergens, anyone susceptible should proceed with caution. Pesky legumes 🙂

      • Scott

        Thanks. I’ll probably try it out soon. It seems that the only place to buy it (on first blush) is their linked fooducopia link. I’ll probably order some when I find a few other things to make the shipping cost worth it.

        Regardless, the skeleton for your breads works well for now (I’ve made a few others with some modifications), and I’m sure I can make this bread with other flours. Too bad to hear that quinoa is the best substitute as I just read this troubling article yesterday about what the quinoa demand is doing to the Bolivians (http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/jan/16/vegans-stomach-unpalatable-truth-quinoa). Not trying to be overly preachy, but the timing of your suggestion and me reading the article compelled me to at least share. I can make it with oat, too. Just a little rearranging to fit it in with my macros.

        The high protein/fiber with low fat/carb is very nice. That’s the same reason I’ve fallen in love with peanut flour (I couple it with almond milk for ice cream). Anyway, this is long. Thanks again for the reply and the wonderful site. 🙂

      • Scott, make it with peanut flour! I wish we could get peanut flour in Australia, I’ve been busting to play with it.
        I only suggested quinoa because of the macro content for that flour. You can pretty much use any flour you like. I actually think a combination of peanut and oat flours would work very well for this one.
        Thanks for sharing the article. I often read the guardian but haven’t had a chance recently due to work, school and family stuff. It’s extremely troubling given the insanity that surrounds its superfood status and the subsequent hysteria and consumption rates that follow 😦
        Frankly, I hardly ever eat quinoa and only have it on rare occasions. I haven’t used the flour in a while either as I have been playing with oat, spelt, coconut and lupin flours more in baking with great results.
        I’m glad you shared it. I hope you don’t mind if I share the article with my FB followers? I think it would be great to share this info.

        Good luck with the bread! Let me know how it goes if you use some peanut flour in it 🙂

      • Scott

        I’m definitely curious to try the lupin flavor (plus it’s far lower carb than quinoa, for when I’m looking for that). Peanut flour could certainly work (and I will likely try this recipe with PF at some point), but that takes it from a “could eat with chili” kind of bread, to a “thinking about sweets and/or Thai spices” meal. First world problems. 🙂

        Glad you enjoyed the article. I was introduced to it through a friend on FB, so please share to your heart’s content. Awareness is a good thing. I love quinoa, but if it’s having this kind of an impact, I’m happy to eat rice, oats, etc., when I need carbs in my diet. There’s enough delicious and nutritious food to limit my choices when I have an ethical reason for doing so.

      • Haha I struggle with the same first world probs when making bread … “gosh, what meals am I planning for the next couple of days???”

        I’m with you re the quinoa and food choices. With all the chocolate I have, I’m very conscious of the practices of the companies from which I buy my chocolate too.
        I’ve shared the article and happily found out that we are starting to grow quinoa commercially in Australia (in Tasmania). That has to be a good thing, although I don’t know about their yield and export plans … the article is here…would be good to take the pressure off struggling communities, and hopefully not have an adverse impact on our environment.
        Link: http://www.goodness.com.au/growers/organic-quinoa-australian.html

      • Scott

        That’s great to hear about the local quinoa growth. The internet has really been amazing at increasing awareness about so many things, including of course the impact of our food choices (and many awesome recipes). As many problems as we may hear or read about, we now have the means to learn about them and correct them.

        It seems that the “best” quinoa hasn’t yet been replicated near sea-level (Bolivian grown is ~12,000ft/3.65km above sea-level), but at least there’s a start.

      • the fact it’s being worked on is a promising sign in itself. Yay for good people 🙂

  4. Scott

    Yay, as well. 🙂

  5. I will confess, I haven’t heard much about lupin as an ingredient before stopping here today, but looks really interesting, and I have the utmost faith in you when it comes to these breads (coconut one is our favorite) Have a good weekend 🙂
    p.s. happy belated B-day! 🙂

    • Hey, G .. lupini beans are traditionally quite popular in Southern/Central Italy as a snack and I just found out that 85% of lupin beans crops are now grown in Australia (and most of the research on them is done here in WA).

      Lupin flour is amazing. The flavour is quite nutty, sweet and it’s so golden it rivals polenta in colour when baked!

      You can use any flour you like in this bread if lupin flour is unavailable but every time I get told that someone cannot find it, a simple google search turns up a supplier in their country 🙂

      There is a German company LUPINO that works with the Irwin Valley company here in Australia and distributes lupin products in Europe and the US.

      I’m making coconut bread today!! Thank you for the birthday wishes .. not feeling any older which is a good thing x

      • Thanks, I’ll have a closer look for lupin flour when shopping next time, I mean the Dutch usually import everything 🙂

      • do they really? mmmm I’m still dreaming about stroowafels .. I have a pack but won’t open them until I’ve sorted out my food intolerance so I can safely say I’ll be taking my chances with the stroops. Love stroopwafels 🙂

  6. Yasmeen

    This looks soooooo good! Can you describe the taste of lupin flour? I’ve never heard of it before.

    I wonder if it would be similar in flavour to garbanzo or fava bean flour?

  7. Safaa

    This looks too good to be true! Quick question, did you notice any bitterness in the bread? I had lupin beans which I brought back from home and gave them a grind. I didn’t however try to bake the bread but just used the flour to coat some chicken nuggets. It came out crispy and golden, the only downfall is the bitterness from the lupin beans. Any info about this would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hi Safaa,

      did you remove the outer coating of teh beans before grinding? This is where the bitterness comes from. If you buy the flour, there is no bitterness. the flavour is great. When the flour is made commercially, the outer layer is removed so that all the usual bitterness and gas producing (irritant) components of the beans are removed.
      I would suggest you buy the flour in this case or carefully remove the outer layer (a lot of work!).

      The bread is great. I had some toasted for breakfast this morning!! 🙂

    • Hi Safaa, no, there was no bitterness in the bread. If your lupin flour is bitter, that is not a good sign. I would not be using whole lupin beans, ground up, to make this bread.
      I purchased lupin flour. Whatever is the cause of the bitterness (perhaps the outer skin?) has obviously been removed.
      I would strongly recommend you purchase the flour to use in baking or to coat meats etc. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Finding recipes for what you have on hand | Low cost low carb

  9. Pingback: Peanut Flour Bread | Low cost low carb

Leave a Reply

