Lemon Poppy Seed Proughnuts

I’m overdue with a recipe for a low-fat proughnut (aka protein doughnut) so here it is!  I should also have posted something wicked and sweet as I’m overdue for that too but hey, one thing at a time 🙂

There’s a very inspirational gal out there who loves the combination of lemon and poppy seed.  She’s made some amazing changes in her life in the last year or so, not least of which, is her own physical transformation.  She’s not finished yet but so far she’s inspired a considerable number of people with her determination, consistency, and joy de vivre, despite a number of setbacks and interruptions.  Including me.

Lemon and poppy seed generally imply wickedly sweet concoctions … cookies, pound cake, muffins, sugary buttery goodness.  It’s what makes lemon and poppy seed so fabulous in sweets.  The combination comes alive with butter and sugar as its canvas.  Well, sure, but I swear you can still have something healthy and enjoy that lemon poppy seed deliciousness.  Even in a doughnut.  So this is for Bella, because I know you don’t indulge in cake and sweet treats too often!

It’s also for the guys on AUSBB and for everyone on the Chocolate Chilli Mango Facebook page who responded with a resounding YES when I asked if you’d like a lemon and poppy seed recipe.  I promise I’ll post another lemon and poppy seed recipe with butter, sugar, and all that bad good stuff next week.  I have one I want to make in the next few days … ooh la la, c’est française 🙂

I originally made some low-fat proughnuts with pureed fruit but I just didn’t like them at all.  I know it’s because of my food intolerance as everything that makes me react seems to put me off a bit these days.  Which is just as well, I guess.  But I’m wanting to make mango proughnuts … of course … so watch this space :p

These doughnuts are very delicate and have a light and open texture.  They’re more cakey than the average baked doughnut.  They are low in fat so are best served warm from the oven or gently reheated in a microwave before serving, if you have leftovers.  Otherwise, they can seem dry once cold and stored.  They taste great on their own or served with a big dollop of yoghurt in the centre … or possibly some lemon and poppy seed casein pudding, or protein fluff, or ice cream.  For the win!

OK I sprinkled a little icing sugar over these, but that’s purely for artistic reasons.  Let’s face it, that’s as much artistry as you get in my photos so I think it’s defensible, yeah? 😀

Don’t have a doughnut pan?  Bake them in cupcake or muffin tins, or make a small loaf.  You will need to adjust the baking times, but just watch the carefully.

They are gluten-free if you choose your oats as such, and they are free of tree nuts and added sugars.  They are also suitable for anyone on a low fructose (fructan) diet.  Macros are sensational and you’ll find them below the recipe.

I hope you enjoy these!  They’re a great post workout treat.

My mother scoffed most of the first batch so I’m taking that as a bona fide endorsement.  🙂

Makes 6 – 8 large or 18 mini doughnuts

Ingredients
100 grams gluten-free oat flour (or regular oat flour)
40 grams unflavoured micellar casein (I used Professional Whey Micellar Casein or substitute rice protein)
90 grams granulated stevia blend sweetener preferred sweetener)
1 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
10 grams (1 tablespoon) poppy seeds
1 large egg
125 grams 0% thick Greek yoghurt (I used Chobani Plain 0%)
65 millilitres non-fat milk (or non-dairy milk)
15 millilitres (1 tablespoon) macadamia nut oil
1 medium lemon, zested and juiced

Directions
Preheat the oven to 180℃.

Grease the doughnut molds, place them on a tray, and set aside.  I simply use a light olive oil spray as my molds are not of the non-stick variety.

Measure out the dry ingredients and place in a large mixing bowl.  In a smaller bowl, combine the wet ingredients from the egg through to the zest and juice of the lemon. Whisk the wet ingredients together with a whisk or a fork.  Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and beat on low to medium speed until the batter is smooth.

I find it easiest to pipe the mixture into the molds.  To do this, fill a disposable piping bag with the doughnut batter and snip the end to allow a reasonably large opening, and pipe the mixture evenly between each mold.  Alternatively, spoon the mixture carefully into each mold with a spoon.

Bake for about 12 to 15 minutes until gold and cooked through.  Take care to not over bake them.  They will deflate slightly when you remove them from the oven but don’t worry!  They are quite delicate in texture.

Let them cool slightly before serving.  These are best eaten, served warm from the oven.  If storing leftovers, keep them in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  Warm through for 10 seconds or so in a microwave before serving.

Top with a protein frosting of your choice or enjoy plain or with some almond butter!

Check out the light, open texture 🙂

Macronutrient Profile
I’ve included macros as per the ingredients used in the recipe above.  As usual, if you deviate from the recipe, you will need to account for some variation in macros.

5 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Protein, Protein Doughnuts, Special Diet

5 responses to “Lemon Poppy Seed Proughnuts

  1. What a wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing it!
    Cheers,
    Merisi

    • Thank you Merisi!
      I thought of you the other day. We were discussing how much we enjoyed our stay in Vienna and how it’s been far too long. I immediately started recalling all the backerei and pastry shops in the city! 🙂

  2. Those are SO gorgeous! what a fabulous colour!

  3. Pingback: Lemon and Poppy Seed Madeleines | Chocolate Chilli Mango

Leave a Reply

