Simple Protein Pancake Staples

Ah ha!  Just to prove that I don’t get too hung up over the lack of quality of my photos for the blog, here’s a quickie post and two recipes because I promised I would post these over on the CCM Facebook page.   They’re just everyday fare, not the sort of thing I would normally think of posting, but hey, they’re really good, so why not?  It’s all iPhone photo territory here so trust me when I say that the photos do not capture the deliciousness of these simple and versatile pancakes.  I’m only cringing a little, promise.

They’re usually taken early in the morning, post boot camp training, in a state of extreme hunger, impatience, and with no visible sources of useful lighting.   That does nothing for the resulting picture quality so grab your spectacles, electron microscope, refractor telescope, or whatever you need to get a better view.   What it does say is that these pancakes are too good for you to allow them to get cold on your highly stylised photo set while you muck about with your camera 🙂

The making of protein pancakes is something that usually happens early in the morning at my place.  Sometimes it happens really early, around 5:30am if I’m heading off early for work.   At least, during the week, this is true.  So, unless I’ve planned it the night before (unlikely) or I just happen to have something fantabulous available within easy reach (too lazy or not awake enough to look), I most often end up making really simple pancakes.  I leave the fancy stuff for the weekend.  When I make them during daylight hours.  I should post a few of those.  MMMM 🙂

So here I have two staples in the protein pancake repertoire that I go to when funky ingredients are not available.  Well, that’s a bit harsh.  I think sweet potato and banana are very funky.  I also think flaxmeal and psyllium are funky.  Whoa, and protein powders are super funky.  But you know what I mean.  Exotic stuff.  So if you have exotic stuff lying about your kitchen screaming “I want me some protein pancake action!“, throw it in, or on top, on the side.  Whatever and where ever you like it best. 🙂

Macros for each recipe are provided below and they are schweet.

First up, a winning high fibre pancake that I posted on Facebook a while ago.  Fluffy fluffy fibre goodness using pea protein isolate.   After that, a combination of leftover sweet potato and banana, using two ingredients we often do have lying around.  This one uses whey protein, although you can use whatever you like.  Both simple but good.

Hop to it!  Start mixing, start flipping, topping with good things, and EAT.

High Fibre Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Makes 6 pancakes / Serves 1 or 2

Ingredients
2 large eggs
40 grams pea protein isolate (I highly recommend this one or this one)
10 grams psyllium husks
250 ml unsweetened coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon organic vanilla powder or extract (I used Professional Whey Organic Vanilla Powder)
stevia, to taste (optional – I don’t bother)

Directions
Blend or whisk together all the ingredients.  Psyllium will thicken up the pancake batter, even as it stands while you cook, so add a little more coconut milk or water if needed.  I just add a bit of water.   It also depends on the size of the eggs you use.  I used extra-large eggs (59 grams each).

Cook the pancakes in a non-stick pan.  I use a minimal amount of little olive oil spray or coconut oil to cook them.  I made six from the quantity of batter in the recipe.

Serve immediately topped with fruit, yoghurt, and maple or coconut syrup.

Sweet Potato & Banana Whey Pancakes

Makes 4 pancakes / Serves 1 or 2

Ingredients
100 grams liquid egg whites (or 2 x 59 gram eggs)
35 grams sliced banana (about half a small one)
50 grams cooked sweet potato (boiled or steamed)
30 grams plain or vanilla WPI (I used Professional Whey NZ WPI)
30 grams raw almond meal
1/4 teaspoon vanilla powder or extract (I used Professional Whey Organic Vanilla Powder)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of sea salt
a good squeeze of lemon juice (about 1 – 2 teaspoons)

Directions
Blend all the ingredients together.  Let sit for 10 mins or so, if you can.  Cook the pancakes in a non-stick pan.  I use a minimal amount of little olive oil spray or coconut oil to cook them.
I make about four larger pancakes with this batter.

Serve immediately topped with yoghurt, cinnamon, and maple or coconut syrup.  A great topping is the lemon ricotta cream in the first photo.  Simply mix together an equal quantity of fresh ricotta and thick Greek yoghurt, and a squeeze of lemon juice.  Top your pancake stack, sprinkle with cinnamon, and freshly grated lemon zest.  Drizzle with a little maple syrup.   Fruit makes a lovely optional extra!

Macronutrient Profile
I’ve given macros for the plain pancakes, without toppings and without accounting for any cooking oils used.  Whatever you add, you should add in the macros to the following.   This is true for anything you add to the pancake batter for each.

Hi Fibre Protein Pancakes Macros

Sweet Potato & Banana Whey Pancakes Macros

12 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Breakfast, Protein, Protein Pancakes, Special Diet

12 responses to “Simple Protein Pancake Staples

  1. I’m really into protein pancakes at the moment too! They keep me full for ages and are a nice change from scrambled eggs and veggies. Thanks for the macros too. Do you think brown rice protein will work in exchange for the whey??? Have you ever tried making any with chocolate protein powder? That’s one experiment I’m thinking of trying this week. Should taste fab topped off with strawberries

    • Yeah, they are a lovely change. I’ve started making them again in earnest 🙂
      I have made them with WPI, casein, pea and rice protein. Works with all of them. In fact, pea and rice protein work well because they don’t dry out the batter like whey can. so you get a lovely fluffy texture.
      I have made them with chocolate! I don’t use chocolate powders but i add raw cacao to them…and usually throw in some berries before I cook them.
      That’s what I’ll be doing tomorrow in fact. Hmmmm should post that one, it’s pretty good actually. Lots of good ones, i just haven’t had time to post them all :-/

  2. These are really not That bad, artistic in an edgy sort if way. I don’t know how anyone can take photos of pancakes or waffles…or eggs, without worrying about everything getting too cold, and worry leads to shaky camera’s. (Such a tangled web we food bloggers weave.) 😀
    Both recipe sounds scrumptious! Coconut milk in pancake batter!? Genius.

    • Ha ha Valerie, from now on, I shall refer to my photos as “edgy”!!!! Yeeeaaahhh!!! 🙂
      And exactly, I mean, who makes pancakes to photograph them? I make them to EAT them and no way they are getting cold while I muck about LOL

      Hope you like them!

      I forgot to mention in the post that when I’ve made these, I usually make a bit extra and keep leftovers covered in the fridge. I just reheat them and they are still great. Win.

  3. Just made these for brekkie – amazing! I served with raw almond butter, blueberries and a drizzle of yacon syrup. Thanks for the great recipe!

    • Yay! 🙂
      I had proats .. not sure why but I added almonds to it and bluberries. not the same but still OK LOL

      • How do you have your proats? I love porridge but so far haven’t really gotten into adding protein powder to it.

        I’m wondering, would the sweet potato and banana pancake batter store well in the fridge overnight?

        Thanks!

      • I usually cook my oats with water. When ready, I stir in 1/2 to 1 scoop of whey or casein along with whatever I’m adding (vanilla, cinnamon, etc) and i add some almond milk. sometimes I add a few berries to the oats when they are almost cooked to warm them through first. Usually I top it with more fruit, a dollop of plain yoghurt and occasionally a drizzle of maple syrup, maybe some chopped nuts, hemp seeds, … ah the possibilities….

        I haven’t tried storing the pancake batter overnight. there isn’t much point given it takes literally a couple of minutes to put together.
        if you do try it, for the recipes that call for psyllium, only add the psyllium in the morning before cooking. As it absorbs moisture like a sponge, it will turn the batter into a thick gel mass overnight.
        Still, they’re so quick to make, it’s not really necessary.

      • Ok I’ll give that a go and see how I like it – thanks!
        You’re right it’s probably not worth prepping the batter the night before. If anything, I might as well make the pancakes and just heat them in the morning. For some reason, pancakes take me forever! Or I might just be impatient… 🙂

  4. So healthy and delicious my friend, just the way pancakes should wake you up in the morning 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

