Mini Lemon & Ginger Blintz Cheesecakes

OK so these aren’t really blintz cheesecakes.  But I occasionally get cravings for blintzes and this is as close as I can get to them without suffering from a FODMAP backlash 🙂

Real blintzes are delicate crepes filled with the most wonderful mixture of cottage cheese, sugar, lots of lemon zest and juice, and sultanas that have been macerated in brandy (if you’re going all out, that is).  Sometimes the sultanas are replaced with a topping of blueberries or a blueberry sauce.  Served warm.  Heaven.  Bliss.  I can’t have sultanas.  Dammit.  But I can have blueberries.  I was also too lazy to make crepes because I got asked to make cheesecake this weekend.  Best of both worlds?  Good enough, I say!  Plus, cheesecake.

So this is my healthy cheesecake homage to the amazingness of the blintz.  With blueberries.

I’ve added a little ginger to the crust.  You don’t have to, it’s optional.  I just like that extra zing that ginger gives as a contrast to the puckery sour of the lemons in the filling.

If you’d like to go all out with a proper cheesecake (aka one that has real sugar), go right ahead and substitute sugar for the sweeteners in the crust and filling.

The macros are pretty good for a healthy dessert, with saturated fats kept low, despite the use of butter in the crust.  It’s also a low carb and low sugar dessert, and kicks goals with each mini cheesecake providing around 13 grams of quality protein – and no protein powders required 🙂

These cheesecakes are best served warm or at room temperature, rather than chilled.  I find this is true of most baked cheesecakes made with either cottage cheese or quark.  If you refrigerate them, simply zap them in a microwave for 5 to 10 seconds and then top as desired to serve.  The texture is beautifully creamy and the lemon hits you with its freshness.

I have topped these simply with some blueberries and lemon zest mixed together and warmed through in a microwave (or gently on the stove).  A satisfying and healthy, blintz-like dessert.

Also, aren’t they just downright pretty?

This recipe is also gluten-free and suitable for anyone with fructose or fructan malabsorption (low FODMAP, excluding dairy).

Enjoy!

Makes: 12 mini cheesecakes

Ingredients
Base
125 grams almond meal (flour)
30 grams coconut flour
30 grams organic butter, melted
1 – 2 teaspoons ground ginger (optional*)
stevia or other sweetener, to taste (I used 1/8 teaspoon pure stevia powder)

*The ginger in this recipe is optional.  If you are not a fan of ginger, simply replace it with 1 – 2 teaspoons finely grated lemon zest or 1/2 teaspoon almond extract.

Cheesecake
600 grams low-fat cottage cheese (I used Elgaar Farm Organics 1% Cottage Cheese)
4 large eggs
1 large or 2 small lemons, zest and juice
120 grams stevia based sweetener or other sweetener, to taste (I used Natvia)

To decorate, use your favourite berry or fruit sauce or compote.  Alternatively, mix some thick Greek yoghurt with a little stevia, lemon zest and ginger to top off the cheesecake.  If happy to use sugar, add some crystallised ginger or a drizzle of melted dark or white chocolate 🙂

Notes: 

If you wish, feel free to use sugar in this recipe.  Simply replace the Natvia with 120 grams of sugar.  For the crust, add up to 30 grams of sugar, or to taste.

This recipe works really well with cottage cheese, quark, and ricotta cheese.  I also like it with a substitution of 500 grams cottage/quark/ricotta cheese plus 100 grams thick (strained) Greek yoghurt.

You can add some sultanas to the cheesecake mixture and even soak them in a little brandy beforehand, if that’s your thing. If so, simply top the cheesecakes with more brandy-soaked sultanas and lemon or a good creme fraiche.

Directions
Base
Preheat the oven to 180℃.  Line a 12-cup muffin pan with cupcake/muffin paper liners.

Mix together all the ingredients for the base in a bowl.  Use clean hands to press the mixture together until it comes together as a crumbly dough.  It may seem that it will not hold together.  Don’t worry!  Divide the mixture between the muffin cases and press firmly into the base, levelling it out.

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes until slightly golden.  Remove from the oven and set on a wire rack to cool slightly.  While the base is baking, make the cheesecake batter.

Cheesecake
Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, until smooth and light.  The amount of lemon you use is up to you.  I love lemon and I like the puckery taste of lemon cheesecake.  If you prefer it to be more subtle, then use half the amount of lemon juice and taste test.  The same goes for the sweetener (or sugar).

Fill the muffin cases with the cheesecake mixture.  Bake at 180℃ for about 30 minutes, or until the filling sets.  The tops may crack slightly but that is OK.

Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.   Top with whatever takes your fancy.  I simply mixed some blueberries and lemon zest and popped them into the microwave for 10 seconds to warm them through and make a thickish sauce.  Delightful 🙂

These cheesecakes are best served at room temperature, or slightly warm.  If you have leftovers, store in the refrigerator, well covered (airtight).  To serve, zap for 5 – 10 seconds in a microwave, or bring to room temperature before serving.

Straight out of the oven

Macronutrient Profile
I’ve provided macros for the plain cheesecakes as per the recipe, above.  If you make substitutions, please factor that into the macro count.  I have not included toppings as you can basically top them as you please 🙂

20 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Cakes, Desserts, Protein, Protein Cheesecake, Special Diet

20 responses to “Mini Lemon & Ginger Blintz Cheesecakes

  1. Cheezylicious! They look so pretty and summery, perfect to brighten up this cold wintry wet Melbourne Monday 🙂

  2. Absolutely gorgeous and I simply adore your recipe for the base! So inventive. Cheesecakes are my favourite and I love this one :).

  3. These gems are a tasty inspiration! I love experimenting with flour and the coconut flour base of these must be delicious. Also, cottage cheese sounds like a good change from the standard cream cheese. Creative as well as tasty post! Have a great day!

  4. An adorable size and I love the blueberry topping – it really gives it that extra pizzazz!

  5. This mini lemon ginger cheesecake is deserved on top 9 today 🙂
    congrats,,,I can’t wait to try this recipe,welldone !!

  6. So cute! I’ve made mini unbaked cheesecakes before but these are gorgeous, I love the base in the muffin liners idea, My mind is going overtime now with options! Congrats on Top 9 too!!

  7. These mini cheesecakes look delicious:) I love the flavors you used, almond, coconut, ginger, and lemon. Great recipe:)

  8. foodiestuntman

    Congratulations on making the foodbuzz Top 9!

  9. These look delicious! I recently made mini cheesecakes with fruit and they disappeared in seconds. This recipe looks incredible – bet they didn’t last long either!

  10. These look amazing! I made your chocolate orange protein bars last night and your mango cheesecake a couple of weeks ago and they turned out fantastic! Will definitely be giving these a go! Keep ’em coming!

    • wow, thank you! You have made my day, Rosalie. I will do my best, for sure 🙂

      • Hi again Viviane,

        I made these last night and though they have a lot of promise I think I fudged them somehow. I used Elgaar cottage cheese and it stayed sort of lumpy. I think I can solve this by blending the hell out of the mix next time. But also they were quite wet, and the bases got soggy. Do you think it’s necessary to drain the cheese first? I’m surprised because Elgaar’s cheese is the dry curd kind. Thanks for your help!

      • Hey Rosalie,
        OK I always use Elgaar cottage cheese and quark so it’s not the cheese. It’s a proper European style dry curd cheese, perfect for this recipe. there is no need to drain this cheese at all. It’s not the cheese, it’s something else.
        If it was lumpy, you didn’t mix it/blend it well for starters. The cheesecake batter should be reasonably smooth!

        Without knowing what you did, I can only guess that you added too much liquid to the batter. The base should not be soggy at all and the filling should not be wet/runny when cooked. It’s possible you may also have underbaked them, but I’m not sure.

        Email me with what you did (including ingredients). I’ll get back to you asap.

  11. thank you, everyone for the lovely comments! can’t believe it got on to the Top 9 but hey, not complaining!! 😀

  12. Can you hear that? Can you? It’s the sound my belly makes when it reeeeeally wants something in it. Something like these wee cheesecakes. It’s whispering, “come hither….”

    • ha… I love how you go all Scottish when a cheesecake craving hits you! You poor wee lass!!! Get some inter ya, lassie!!
      tip for you: use ricotta or a mix of ricotta and cottage cheese, use real sugar.
      Unless you’ve gone all crazy like me with your own dietary habits. I’m making these with sugar for the family this weekend, but sans sucre pour moi 😦

  13. Pingback: Fox in the Kitchen – Recipe: Sweet and Spicy Kale Chips :: MMM (Must Make Monday)

  14. I’ve never had ginger with cheesecake. I must try this!

Leave a Reply

