Orange & Rosemary Butter Cake

Hello there!  Anyone still around???  I feel like I’ve gone AWOL again.  Would be lovely if I could have this blog as my full-time occupation.  Some of you do the blogger thing full-time out there … what’s the secret???  I’ll figure it out, eventually …  😉

I’m very excited as I’m working with some very talented people to  overhaul this blog and redesign the site!  At last!  The aim is to give it a whole new look and feel that fits with what this blog is all about and separate out the protein cookery section and make it all easier to navigate and a whole bunch of other stuff.   So watch this space, CCMers 😀

Right now, though, I’m thinking oranges.  Why?  It’s not part of the new blog colour scheme, if that’s what you’re thinking.  The reason is that navel oranges are coming back into season here in Australia, specifically Victoria.  We grow awesome oranges locally.   But it irks me that in the warmer months we import Navel oranges because everyone seems to want Navels.  In summer, we have the most wonderful Valencia oranges that always seem to be cast aside, into the shadows, with Navels always getting the limelight.  Or orangelight in this case.  Whatever.   I love using fruit and vegetables in season.  They are so much better – sweeter, juicier, and at their peak nutritionally.  I bought quite a few this week.  Fragrant, perfect, juicy and sweet.  Locally grown Navels, because their season has begun and the Valencias have disappeared.  At least from my local market.

I’ve barely baked anything at all lately aside from essentials like my protein bread.  I’ve simply neglected proper baking altogether.  Working long hours and not having any time out, even on weekends and public holidays, eventually takes its toll.  I’m not fishing for sympathy, mind you.  Just a stress buster.  The other night, I grabbed my apron, and walked purposefully into the kitchen.

“I’m baking a cake.  A proper butter, sugar, eggs, and flour, bona fide cake”, I declared … and so I did.

Of course, there would be oranges.  Given my rosemary bush is just beautiful now and you can smell its fragrance in the garden, I just had to use that too.  Lemon and rosemary are a very common combination in breads and cakes but orange and rosemary is fairly traditional in Italy too.  It smells like heaven … sharp rosemary mixed with the sweetness of the orange … wrapped up in a classic butter cake.

I hope you love this cake.  It’s very simple and a little rustic but rather sophisticated too.  It’s lovely served on its own with a cup of tea or an espresso.  It also makes an interesting dessert, served with a generous dollop of thick Greek yoghurt or créme fraîche.  A few orange segments alongside would not go astray.  Use oranges in season! 🙂

Enjoy!

Makes 1 x 18cm – 20cm cake / Serves 8 – 10

Ingredients
150 grams unsalted butter, at room temperature
150 grams sugar
3 large eggs
1 large orange
185 grams plain flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
5 grams / 1 generous tablespoon finely chopped fresh rosemary

Directions
Preheat the oven to 180°C.
Line the base and sides of a 18 – 20cm round cake tin with baking paper (unless using the non-stick variety).

Beat the butter and sugar together until light and creamy.  Add the eggs and beat until smooth.  Finely grate the zest of the orange and add to the egg and butter mixture.  Juice the orange and set aside.

Sift the flour and baking powder together.  Add half to the batter and beat until smooth.  Add the orange juice and mix well.  Add the remaining half of the flour and beat until smooth.  Finally, add the chopped rosemary and fold in.

Transfer the batter to the prepared tin and bake for 40 to 45 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.  The top of the cake should be light golden.  Set aside to cool in the tin.

This cake keeps well, stored in an airtight container for several days.  If it lasts that long.

27 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Cakes, Fruit

27 responses to “Orange & Rosemary Butter Cake

  1. The texture looks lovely and I’m a fan of citrussy cakes. P.S. – I wish blogging could pay all the bills too!

  2. Pardon my first comment intrusion! We’re friends on FoodBuzz so came to check out your cake. I’m not a full time blogger neither but I’d so love to be but can’t help with that, lol.

    I can’t imagine just how awesome of an aroma came from your kitchen as you baked this! Must’ve been heaven in your household. What a wonderful cake, different but very refreshing. Perfect with a morning, lunchtime, or evening cuppa. Or just an anytime sneakitime slice, hehe!

    Have left you some Buzz-love on this post on FoodBuzz. 🙂

    -Lisa.
    Sweet 2 Eat Baking

    • Hi Lisa! So nice to meet you on FoodBuzz!! Thanks, yes, the whole house smelled lovely. it was like an aromatherapy treatment for my frayed nerves…only yummier 🙂

      I’ll head back to FoodBuzz in the morning and respond!!

  3. Such a beautiful cake! Great flavours too – anything with rosemary and butter in it is a winner in my eyes!

  4. Orange and rosemary is a combination I’ve never thought of, but really sounds lovely! I’d love to blog full-time too…if anyone tells you the secrete let me know 🙂

  5. This cake looks simply sweet and fragrant – great flavour combination 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. Love orange cakes and love the colour of the cake! Beautiful as always dearie! (: Thanks for sharing the yummy recipe!

  7. When I first read this post, I read: “I’m not fishing for sympathy, mind you. Just stress BUTTER.” And I was all, what? Stress butter? Where can I get that? And I was pretty stoked. Then I re-read the word as buster, which made a lot more sense.

    Also, just so you know, all of your orange talk has me salivating. The cake looks divine – you know I loves me some butter (cake)…

    • mmmmm butter…with you all the way, Ms Beaucoup. Stress butter would soothe the troubled soul mui bien! 😀
      Been checking out those birthday cake entries. Wow, I had sweet nothin’ on my 40th!!! They look great!

  8. This looks fabulous! I love the combination of the orange and rosemary. Simply brilliant!

  9. Thank you for the lovely comments, everyone! So glad you like this one. It’s a nice refreshing change, isn’t it?

  10. What a wonderfully moist cake 🙂

  11. A proper butter, flour & sugar cake! It’s been so long since I made one of these 😀 I’ve made something similar but with olive oil, polenta and lemon. Do you think anyone would notice if I snook some butter in my trolley? Underneath the organic oranges of course!! Congrats on Top 9 and let me know if you find out the secret of making blogging pay!! ;D

  12. This cake sounds delicious! I love the combination of citrus and rosemary! Congrats on the Top 9 :)!

  13. candice

    The cake looks beautiful! I bet it tastes great too. =)

  14. mjskit

    Orange and rosemary – what an unusual combination. It does sounds quite good and this cake looks delicious! I love the texture! Congrats on the Top 9!

  15. I found your post through savory simples facebook page. What a gorgeous cake. I definitely want to give this a try. Thanks for posting!

  16. I can imagine the wonderful aromas. Can’t wait to make this one!

  17. Beautiful and delicious cake! I made it for upcoming Mother’s Day (you may have a look here: http://dalia.clanteam.com/2012/05/04/apelsinu-rozmarinu-pyragas/ ) Thank you for sharing this recipe and inspiring photos!

  18. Ah, I’d love to be blogging full time (or even part time for the matter) but sadly, not there, so can’t give any intelligent advice here 🙂 But this cake looks like sunshine on a plate, orange and rosemary is just a fabulous combo 🙂

    • Thank you, gorgeous! We need the sunshine…autumn is very grey right now. Hoping to see the sun a bit this week!
      Wouldn’t it be cool to be able to ditch our day jobs and make a living out of cooking and writing about it??? I shall continue to dream 🙂

  19. This recipe sounds delicious! I love orange, and I love rosemary. I never would have thought to put them together in a cake. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe.

  20. Pingback: A Change is Gonna Come « The Eclectic Connoisseur's Weblog

Leave a Reply

