Banana Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Ahh … I keep making protein pancakes to my family’s amusement but today … today’s pancakes were so luscious, light and delicious and downright SCRUMDIDDLIUMPTIOUS, I wanted to share them NOW.   Sure, it’s also a public holiday here in Melbourne so I have a little time up my sleeve.

There’s also the egads, I’ve got the worst case of DOMS and I can’t move anything except my fingers after two killer workouts yesterday so I’m resting up.  Even my ribcage hurts.  What’s that about?  🙂

These pancakes pack a wallop of quality protein, have barely any discernible fat and the carbs are kept as low as possible and are of the good complex variety.  That is, if you don’t add the maple syrup.  I just added a bit because I like it.  It’s maple syrup.  Yum.

And as usual, we’re not relying here on artificially sweetened protein powders with other crapola included to get good flavour here.  They taste awesome made with pure, unflavoured protein.  So if you are eating clean, this is for you!

Gluten free, dairy free, low FODMAP, and no added sugar (without the maple syrup on top).  If you have an allergy to almonds, try using rice, soy or skim milk.

So inclusive and good for you, they could sprout angel wings.

They’re so light, fluffy, GOOOOOOD.

Which is more than I can say about the photo but hey, it was taken impromptu, fast, and on my brekkie plate before it cooled or someone could whisk away from under my watchful eye 🙂

Enjoy!

Makes 2 large or 4 small pancakes (Serves 1 – 2)

Ingredients
100 grams egg whites
30 grams banana
30 grams unflavoured pea protein powder*
2 teaspoons psyllium husks
90 millilitres unsweetened almond milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract or bean paste
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (or to taste!)

*I use pea and whey protein in pancake recipes, although I have found that pea protein makes a softer lighter textured pancake.  Some whey proteins work well, others might give you rubber tyres instead of pancakes!

To Serve
fresh blueberries and 100% maple syrup, to serve

Instructions
Blend together all the ingredients.  If required, add a little extra almond milk or water to get a good pancake batter consistency.

Heat a pancake pan or skillet.  I use 100% pure rice bran oil spray on a non-stick skillet to fry up the pancakes.  You can use whatever works for you.

Ladle 1/2 or 1/4 of the batter into the skillet and pancake away.  Repeat until you’ve used up the batter.

Place on warmed plates.  Scatter over some fresh blueberries and drizzle with maple syrup.

EAT!!!

Nutritional Profile
The macros provided here are for the pancakes and don’t include the blueberries and maple syrup.  Add whatever you like on top.  Yoghurt and berries or protein fluff to add extra protein OOMPH are all great ideas.

11 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Breakfast, Fruit, Protein, Protein Pancakes, Special Diet

11 responses to “Banana Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

  1. beautiful! …breakfast tomorrow i think…thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Pingback: Banana Cinnamon Protein Pancakes - Ausbb - Australian BodyBuilding

  3. These look super–and kid friendly too!

  4. I can totally see wings 🙂 love it!

  5. angela

    these came out really liquidy? is that normal?

    • No, when I make them, and I have made them quite often, they are not too liquidy? Do you mean the batter is too runny for pancakes? That has not happened to me.
      Are you using too much liquid? There isn’t much in the recipe. Let me know what you did and I might be able to diagnose and suggest something!!

  6. hey, how many eggs is that if I use fresh ones ?

Leave a Reply

