Cranberry Orange Bundt Cake

I have to ‘fess up to the fact that I am suffering from Post Tour de France Fatigue Syndrome.  Three weeks of sleepless nights due to the time difference was all  worth it for this cycling fan, particularly as I got to see a perfect podium with my favourites standing atop it on the Champs-Élysées – Cadel Evans alongside Andy and Frank Schleck.

Congratulations to Cadel Evans for a fabulous three-week campaign to win the Tour!  Not to mention a historic day for Australian Cycling.  Yay!

But, egad, I haven’t been capable of anything too complicated this past week.  It’s been hard enough just to remember which day is which.  Need sleep 😉

Now I have to endure the annual August TDF Withdrawal Phase.  I really enjoyed TourdeFrancing.  Hey, it’s a verb.  Sure it is.

This week it’s about simple comfort baking.  Nothing too mentally challenging or requiring manual dexterity.  We are smack in the middle of winter here.   That strongly suggests citrus and dried fruits … in this case, oranges, cranberries and sultanas (or raisins).  Whipped up into a moist, buttery, and totally yummy bundt cake.  It practically yells out MANGIAMI!

I’ve been badgered by the family to make a fruit cake for a while.  But, hey, that’s so blah boring … well, maybe I’ve been wrong.  Not so blah when you are feeling totally blah yourself.  Plus, now I am SO in the good books at home.  Big fat grins and happy faces all round.  Top spot on the podium 😀

This cake is a variation on a plain light fruit cake I’ve made for years.  Instead of using just sultanas or raisins, I substituted cranberries for half the sultanas and ramped up the orange flavour.  Very glad I did … the result is fabulous.  Buttery, sweet and tart, and full of fresh orange sunshine.  Do not be tempted to use anything but fresh oranges for this!

Where’s the CHOCOLATE?

There isn’t any … if you really want to, drizzle a little melted dark or white chocolate, or ganache, very lightly over the top, instead of the icing sugar.  But honestly, this cake is best enjoyed for what it is.  Save the chocolate for another day … or later when you get a craving.

You can double the recipe to bake it in a 23cm bundt tin for a larger cake and crowd.

This is great on its own with a cup of tea or coffee.  It is also really good served with a dollop of yoghurt or cream with a little orange zest mixed in.  Put on the kettle, or get your coffee machine humming and cut a slice of buttery fruit cake goodness.  😀

Yields  1 x 18cm bundt cake, serves 6 – 8

Ingredients
120 grams dried cranberries
100 grams sultanas
150 millilitres orange juice, freshly squeezed*
185 grams unsalted butter, softened
150 grams sugar
grated zest of 2 oranges
3 eggs
225 grams plain flour, sifted
3 teaspoons baking powder

icing sugar, for dusting

*Two large juicy oranges should be about right

Instructions
Pre-heat the oven to 180ºC/350ºF.   Smear an 18cm bundt tin with a little extra softened butter and dust out with a little flour.  Make sure to tap out any excess flour.  Set aside.

Place the cranberries, sultanas and orange juice in a saucepan over a gentle heat.  Bring to a simmer and take off the heat immediately.  Stir and set aside to cool.

In the bowl of a mixer, beat together the butter, sugar, orange zest until light and creamy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Sift together the flour and baking powder.  Add to the batter and beat until smooth.

Add the dried fruit and juice mixture to the batter and beat until the batter is smooth and creamy.

Place the batter into the prepared bundt tin and bake for 50 – 60 minutes at 180ºC/350ºF.  It is cooked when a skewer, inserted into the centre, comes out with just crumbs attached to it.

Remove from the oven and leave to cool on a wire rack.  Once cooled, remove from the tin and place on a serving dish.  Sift over some icing sugar, if desired, before serving.

This cake can be stored for several days at room temperature, in an airtight cake tin.

22 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Cakes, Fruit

22 responses to “Cranberry Orange Bundt Cake

  1. This looks like a tasty cake. Perfect for an afternoon kaffeklatsch!

  2. Love how it looks like it’s bursting with orange goodness. And cranberries do trump sultanas and raisins for me!

  3. This looks to be bursting with flavour. Perhaps it should be the official food the the next TDF? I’d definitely cycle faster if I’d breakfasted on this.

  4. Cranberry and orange are like a match made in heaven! I always just see scone recipes for this flavor combo-kudos to you incorporating it into a bundt cake. No chocolate needed, no doubt the cake is awesome without it. Yum!

  5. V, beautiful pics & great recipe. For me, the picture is somehow reminiscent of Panettone – perhaps the fruit and the shape make me think of it 🙂 Have you ever made one ? A bit out of season and much more Milanese than your Venetian Pasticceri (?) – Zaeti that I’ve sampled – which BTW I hadn’t told you how much Annie & I enjoyed them – they were simply delish. Melt in the mouth lightness with an intense, lifting, lemony zing YUM 🙂 Thank you so much.

    • Hello!! Thanks, funny how a certain unnamed food photo site continues to reject them when a better site will accept them…always for composition. I think they have me on auto reject 😦 Guess who has decided this morning to never submit any photos to that site again …
      So glad you enjoy the zaeti! Funny how you mention panettone, I used a similar flavour combo for the panettone recipe I posted at Christmas. The photos are poor quality as I had to take them with my phone camera *horror of horrors*. But the recipe is pretty good, despite being time consuming. This cake doesn’t have the texture of a panettone, this is very much a straight up buttery fruit cake. The old man tells me it’s his new favourite fruit cake … until the next one, I presume 😀

  6. This cake looks perfect! Love the use of fresh orange juice. It is the perfect cake to make in my new cake pan!! Wish I could buzz it twice =)

  7. This looks beautiful! It looks like a special holiday cake to me. I love the orange and cranberry combo, and you made it look so pretty with the sugar on top 😀

  8. I’m so jealous of your tour de france fun! Sounds amazing! You bundt cake is also very cute, I love your bundt pan. I’m okay with the no chocolate, sometimes you just want a great fruit dessert!

  9. Fantastic recope ! Now I know what can I do with the bag of oranges 😉

  10. Only for 4 hours we have had this cake…. There is no chance to stay longer 😉 Delicious !

Leave a Reply

