Red Cross e-doorknock For Humanity

A very quick post that’s totally unrelated to recipes today.  As we are all painfully aware, the last few months have brought devastation and trauma and an horrific loss of life and subsistence to many across our region.  We’ve had the devastating floods here in Australia from Queensland to Victoria, a traumatic earthquake situation in Christchurch, New Zealand, and now the unimaginable with the current earthquake, tsunami, and unfolding nuclear dangers in Japan.  The number of people without access to fresh food and water, let alone power, fuel etc, is staggering.

It does leave one feeling sick at heart and utterly helpless to do anything useful at times like this.  The scale of what has, and continues, to occur in Japan is so immense that even the authorities and the world’s foremost aid and disaster relief agencies are struggling.  The Red Cross is not immune from being stretched to capacity in dealing with these disasters.  To help them raise funds and continue their great work, they’ve launched a program called Red Cross e-doorknock For Humanity.

I wanted to do my bit to help out but wasn’t sure what I could do.  I registered with the Red Cross a few years ago as I have a great respect for the work they do around the world.  I heard of the e-doorknock program and thought it was a great way to help out.  So I’ve set up a fundraising page, with a humble goal of reaching $100,000 to support the Red Cross in providing aid to those most in need across the region.

It’s easy to feel donation fatigue after all the appeals and fundraising over recent weeks and months.  But I urge you to lend your support to this fabulous organisation.

If you would like to donate, please click on the link below to my fundraising page on the Red Cross site:

Chocolate Chilli Mango’s Fundraising Page

I’ve also included a link to the page under the Search bar of my blog page.

I’d greatly appreciate it if you could also share the link with friends, family and your social networks.  If you’d like to join and be part of the action, I’m happy to convert the fundraising page to a team page and you’d be most welcome to join me.

It would be great to get to $100,000, extraordinary to surpass it.

The fundraising page will be active from 16 March 2011 until 14 May 2011.

Thank you so much for your support.

PS A recipe post will be on its merry way soon, I promise … I’m in the mood for baking as the weekend nears and I certainly need something cheery to do for my mum’s birthday coming up.

Leave a comment

Filed under All Recipe Posts

Leave a Reply

