Date & Walnut Bliss Bombs

I keep calling healthy snacks “bombs”.  Not sure what that’s about, but these little bliss balls are packed full of yummy fruity nutty chocky goodness.  Guaranteed to give you a burst of energy.  Ahhh … burst of energy, bombs. I get it now 🙂

Best of all, they take almost no time to make, need no baking, and taste sensational.  A great mid-morning or afternoon treat, after a workout, before a workout, whatever.  They’re great for kids too as they pack a lot of energy but don’t contain refined sugars or any nasties.  They’re not too high in calories either.  What a bonus.  That’s what puts the bliss into these little bombs.

Bliss bombs are a good everyday treat, but they also make elegant petit fours to serve with coffee.  Their sweetness comes mainly from the dates, so they are not at all cloying.

You can use orange juice instead of the orange flower water if you prefer but the orange flower water gives them a lovely middle-eastern touch.  If you don’t like coconut, toss them in a little cocoa instead.  If they’re not sweet enough for you, add a tablespoon of orange blossom honey or maple syrup.  I will not be offended, promise. 😀

This time around I used Willie’s Supreme Cacao Peruvian Black, a lovely single origin 100% cacao chocolate with a fruity tang.  It’s getting easier to find 100% cacao, especially in specialty shops, but also in health food stores.  A number of organic varieties are available that would be great.  If you’re not sure, a few that I would recommend include:  Michel Cluizel Noir Infini 99%, Giraudi 100%, Willie’s Supreme Cacao 100%, and Pacari Organic Raw Chocolate 100% Bar.  If you cannot find it, or it’s too daunting, use a good quality 85% bar (Lindt Excellence is OK).

You can add in a little flaxseed or sunflower seeds if you like, for added goodness.  I prefer them simple.

Go ahead. Enjoy and feel virtuous.

Makes 20 – 24 (depends on your idea of sizing)

Ingredients
80 grams walnut meat or dry roasted almonds
10 dates, pitted
20 grams 100% cacao couverture (or raw chocolate)
30 grams protein powder (vanilla)
1 tablespoon vanilla bean paste
2 tablespoons orange flower water

heaped 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, for coating

Directions
Grate or chop the chocolate finely.

Place all the ingredients, except the coconut, into the bowl of a food processor and process until it comes together in a ball.  The mixture should not contain large pieces of nuts or dates at this point.

Form the mixture into small-walnut sized balls and toss in the coconut until coated.

Done!

They keep for about a week or more if stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator.  Allow to come to room temperature before serving.

Nutritional Profile
As usual for my Healthy Zone recipes, I’ve include a nutritional profile.  Values are based on the recipe using walnuts and unsweetened 100% cacao chocolate.  If you use almonds or a sweetened chocolate, the values will vary somewhat.

21 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Chocolate, Confectionery, Fruit, Nuts, Protein Chocolates, Special Diet

21 responses to “Date & Walnut Bliss Bombs

  1. Helena

    Ohh Viviane

    I have a dilemma …
    This looks so divine and I would love to make them for the kids and not feel guilty about giving it to them.

    But I have a slightly embarrassing problem – I only recognise the first 2 ingredients on your list 😦
    Can you tell me where I can source the others ie can I get them from my local Woolies 🙂
    Please help!
    Helena

    • Helena! #1: Don’t Panic!
      #2: 100% cacao chocolate can be found in speciality shops like Essential Ingredient or chocolate stores and health food shops. At Woolies, just get the Lindt Excellence 85%, close enough!
      #3: Protein powder can be found at health food shops, pharmacies and sometimes Woolies in the health food section. Vanilla is good for this recipe but choc also ok. Not other flavours though and get 100% whey protein is best.
      #4: Orange flower water you can find at middle eastern food shops, possibly Woolies, markets, easy. Vanilla bean paste – if you are limited to Woolies, get the Queen vanilla bean paste or at least use pure extract.
      Easy, see??? xx

  2. Meg

    Those look fantastic! I’d definitely have them pre-workout and post-workout. 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to try these – you’ve excelled yourself chocolate chilli mango!

  4. I love the name of these treats! I can’t wait to try them out on my triathlete husband. He will be thrilled to find out they have protein powder in them.

  5. This is amazing. Like to try this one of these days.

  6. I love such truffles wit dates! it`s always chewy and delicious with them 🙂

  7. These are so pretty! I love the fuzzy look of the unsweetened coconut. I’ll have to put them on my list to try.

  8. This is great recipe, i like this recipe name and also snaps, i’m sure its tasty too.

  9. These would be so awesome to have sitting around for a snack when needed. The recipe is so simple too! Thnx for sharing 🙂

  10. I made a variation of these late last month for Eid. Although my recipe only called for dates, tea biscuits and shredded coconut. The tea biscuits added a little bit of crunch to an otherwise soft treat. You’re right, they’re easy to make – but it can get a bit messy (or at least it did in my case).

    • They sound lovely…but I guess that would take them out of the healthy zone with the tea biscuits and all!! The walnuts also add a little bite to them if you don’t grind them fine. I don’t find these messy to make at all..actually they’re one of the easiest and low impact on washing up treats I make, which is a bonus 🙂

  11. bo dietl Long time lurker, first time poster. Great post, everyone on here seems to be in agreeance with what you wrote.

    Sometimes I have heard beau dietl say that on his Fox News show.

Leave a Reply

