Awesome Choc Chip Protein Bombs

Lately, I’ve got more serious about my fitness and that includes my diet.  It’s no biggie as I like to eat healthy most of the time anyway.  It’s just that … well, balancing healthy eating with what feels like a biological imperative to bake and make desserts is a teeny-weeny bit of a challenge.  I’m a big believer in the old adage “two birds, one stone”.   Oh, also the one about “having your cake and eating it too”.  Both excellent sayings.  So after a workout, I want something healthy, with a good protein kick, and that doesn’t taste like cardboard.  Or stale.  Or includes ingredients a pharmacist can’t pronounce (mmm, protein bars anyone?).  Or requires me to mix it up in a special bottle.  And it has to taste great.  If it has a little chocolate in it, all the better.  A little chocolate can be good for you.  Remember, I worked out, right?

These protein bombs are chock full of protein, plus some carbs, heart healthy fats, fibre, and other goodies that you need after a workout.  Or before :-).  I modified my recipe for flourless chocolate chip cookies by adding some protein powder (chocolate flavour, but vanilla is good too).  You can leave out the protein powder and the cookies will be more chewy (read, yummy) but they are fabulous with it, plus you get extra protein.  How much protein they contain depends on what nut butter and protein powder you use.  Best of all, they are easy to take with you so you can have a couple after your workout.  No mixing, no mess, and no cardboard taste!

You can use any nut butter you like but ABC (almonds, brazil nuts, and cashews) is a great combination and is a complete protein on its own.  And it tastes fantastic.  Try to use good quality chocolate chips.  I used Callebaut chips with 70% cocoa solids.  You could also use your favourite chocolate chopped into chunks.  Don’t like chocolate?  (has a seizure…)  Guess how good they are if you substitute dried berries for the chocolate?  Sensational.  Lower in fat, higher in fibre, lots of good berry stuff … dried blueberries or cranberries are great but also mixed freeze dried berries or sour cherries.  All good.

They last for about a week stored in an airtight tin.  You can double the recipe easily too.  Good excuse to work out every day 😉  Awesome!

Makes 18 – 24 cookies (depends on how big you like your cookies)

Ingredients
250 grams raw nut butter (ABC, almond, walnut, cashew, hazelnut, macadamia, …)
1/2 cup brown sugar or coconut sugar (not packed)**
1/2 cup rolled oats or quinoa flakes (optional)
60 grams or 2 scoops protein powder*
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 tablespoon  pure vanilla bean paste or extract
1/2 cup good quality dark chocolate chips or chopped chocolate (70%)

* Micellar casein or rice protein isolate work best in this recipe but you could substitute whey.  Just beware that it can dry them out more.

** You could also substitute stevia, maple syrup, Natvia/Truvia, evaporated cane juice, rapadura, whatever you prefer.

Method
Preheat the oven to 200°C / 400°F.
Line baking trays with non-stick baking paper.
Place the nut butter, sugar, oats, protein powder, bicarbonate of soda, egg, and vanilla into a large bowl.  Stir to combine.
Fold in the chocolate chips.
Roll heaped teaspoonfuls of mixture into balls and place on the baking trays, allowing some room for spreading.  Press very lightly with a fork or a flat knife.
Bake cookies for about 8 – 10 minutes until golden.  Be careful not to over-bake them or the base will burn.
Remove from the oven and allow to cool on wire racks.  The cookies will be soft when taken out of the oven but will crisp up a little as they cool.
Store in an airtight container, away from heat, in a cool, dry place.

Nutritional Profile
I have used data for most of the ingredients from the Calorie King Australia website.  It provides data that is quite comprehensive.  There will be slight variations across products and brands and so I’ve provided a typical profile.

For the chocolate chips I have used data relating to Nestle Dark Chocolate Chips as these are easy to use and the amounts are fairly typical.

For the protein powder I have based it on the GNC brand 100% Whey Protein as this is widely available and gives fairly standard amounts.  Each scoop is 31 grams so works out about right.

I’ve also provided amounts based on what yield of cookies you get, based on what size you make them ranging from large to small (18 to 24).  I hope you find this helpful.  I certainly did.

Let me know if you have any comments or thoughts!

Trans fats are essentially zero so I haven’t included them.

Want the version with dried blueberries?  Here it is:


22 Comments

Filed under All Recipe Posts, Chocolate, Nuts, Protein, Protein Cookies, Special Diet

22 responses to “Awesome Choc Chip Protein Bombs

  1. brett

    I like the recipe and I love the ricotta tart. I am a friend of John Grivas, he referred me to your blog. I think if I click the Notify me of new posts then I am subscribed so look forward to reading your blog and your recipes.

    Brett.

    • Thanks Brett! the blog is a work in progress in that I’m still figuring out how I want it to evolve, look, feel etc so please bear with me and the writing for the time being 🙂 Hope you enjoy the recipes…will try to keep posting on a regular basis. cheers, Viviane

  2. Doris Di Rienzo

    Yummy, I’d love to taste test.

  3. betheigh

    I’d love to make these. I malabsorb protein and am always looking for delicious ways to get it. Besides meat, eggs, cheese and protein bars (I ONLY eat the Peanut Rock’n Roll Bars), I am sometimes at a loss of how to get extra protein in. Right now, it is critical that I do so because I am considered underweight. I HATE protein shakes, but I’d be willing to buy some powder to try these!

    Do you have any favorite powders that you use just for drinking? And more in line with this recipe – what protein powder works best in this? I don’t want it to taste terrible! Do you cook regularly with protein powder?

    Thanks in advance!

    • Hi, I’m in a similar position…I’ve been supplementing my protein intake with powders in order to put on some muscle mass (also underweight) and being vegetarian makes it harder (I now eat tuna). I started using WPI (whey protein isolate) powder but found that it was too dry. Best I have found for these is to use 100% whey protein. I’m currently just using the GNC brand chocolate (vanilla is good too). I would stick to vanilla or chocolate for these. I’ve used a number of different ones and none of them taste great but the GNC one is OK. I don’t eat protein bars as most of them contain sorbitol/malitol and usually have weird ingredients. These cookies have a good dose of protein and good mix of carbs, protein and fat that make them great after a work out or as a snack.
      I use protein powder in smoothies (fruit, soy or skim milk, protein powder and oats) and over fruit and yoghurt. I sometimes add it to muffins. I might post some of the recipes ;-). Re taste – it’s quite a personal thing? I hate them too…helps to have them with skim milk and I usually add a little cocoa 🙂
      Let me know how you go!

  4. betheigh

    It is funny that you mention the GNC protein powder. That is the ONLY one I would/could drink when I did it. I know they make several kinds, but this is the one in a black and red tub. I had the chocolate. Eventually, I gave it to my Mom.

    I only ever consider the 100% whey protein because it is the most complete protein supplement available.

    Yes, please post recipes! I’d love that. I’ve seen where people use it to replace other ingredients in baked goodies, and then add some kind of sugar substitute. The small amount of sugar in these cookies doesn’t bother me, and if I’m getting protein in, I can totally justify it, so that’s fine with me. I also malabsorb fat and complex carbs, so I am not really worried about that – I need help in those areas, too.

    Thanks again for your help!!

    • I’ll be due to restock soon so will let you know if I find anything better on the whey protein! Don’t lose heart, i have fructose and fructan malabsorption so I’m not supposed to have wheat as well a many fruit and veg I like (hello vegetarian!). I thought it was ironic and going to be hell, but coping ok. i promise to post some appropriate recipes soon! Happy New Year!

  5. 6 g of protein in a cookie? I’m all over that. Except I’d be afraid I might eat the whole batch.

    Maybe I won’t like the protein powder so much and won’t be tempted to overdo. (I’ve never tried protein powder, but these cookies look like a better option than protein bars.)

    I don’t understand the percentages at the end, which should total 100%. I think the formulas are pulling the wrong divisor. The calories for each source are being compared to the total kilojoules.

    For example, the dried blueberry cookies actually get 55% of their 145 calories from fat, 27.5% from carbs, and 16.5 % from protein.

  6. Hi Tammi! OMG, good pickup!! My calculations were correct, but I used kJ instead of kCal so my bad!! Sue me for my love of the joule…I’ve rectified on all the recipes where I post the nutritional info. Thanks for picking that up! You don’t have to use protein powder and frankly, if you do, you can’t taste it…to be really sure, use 100% pea protein…I add it in baking all the time and using the vanilla one just imparts more vanilla flavour, nothing else.
    in the end, they are great cookies… 🙂

  7. Marie

    These look delicious! do you think they would work with egg white instead of the whole egg?

    • they really are! my favourite choc chip cookie. I don’t see why they would not work with egg white only. Substitute 2 egg whites for the whole egg. More protein! I’m due to make a batch this week. Will try it with just egg white too. 🙂

  8. These were really amazing. The best protein cookie I’ve ever made. Though a bit lower in protein than others I’ve tried, they taste exactly as good as a “regular” cookie because there’s not too much protein powder in them to mess up the texture! I used a mix of hazelnut and almond butter, with a bit of tahini and the flavour was divine.

    • Go you!! Yes, I think it’s worth the sacrifice of a little protein so that they taste awesome. I don’t get high protein recipes that taste terrible…what’s the point of them if I have to suffer? 😀
      Thanks for the fabulous feedback…and wow, yes, hazel + almond + tahini is spectacular!
      I really love walnut too! I usually add a little ground coffee to it to make mocha walnut cookies.

  9. Kerensa

    I just made these and they are amazing. I am also sick of the junkie protein bars and cookies on the market and, being gluten and fructose intolerant, a lot are ruled out for me. These were delicious!!

    • so glad you love them Kerensa! I am also fructose and fructan intolerant so these are one of my staples 🙂
      If you want fructose friendly protein bars, there are some on the site. I’m working on more soon …they will have to be gluten/fructose intolerant friendly by default.

  10. Hilary

    Made these, but with a twist, last night during an intense bout of carrot cake craving.

    Added 1 grated carrot, mixed spice, oats and raisins and omitted the choc chips. Sweetened with maple syrup and also threw in some chia just for the hell of it. Delicious, and totally hit my carrot-cake sweet spot.

    Thanks Viviane!

  11. Alright, making these now, I think you should out more chocolate in them 🙂

  12. Christina

    Thank you so much for these great recipes. I have three athletic teens and this will be a welcomed change from the protien bars and the quick “grab and go ” food they currently eat. I also love the way you can add fruits and nuts, and even veggies. ( going to have to try the carrot cake cookies. Looking for pancakes and muffins next. Yum yum
    One of my sons has a Problem with whey so ill try it with a soy protien powder.
    I’m sure you have some out there but any other recipes that throw in more veggies or more fiber would be greatly appreciated.
    Keep up the good work and I’ll be checking you Facebook daily now for more wonderful, yummy and healthy alternitives. Thank you!

    • Thank you Christina!
      A lot of recipes on here use pea protein isolate or rice protein (and soon hemp as well) so whey/casein issues are not a big issue.
      You can usually substitute with either of those, or soy if that is your thing. I never use soy protein myself, though, so I don’t know how it will turn out.

      I’ll happily throw in more veggies for sure…for my sake too! I’ve used a lot of sweet potato in recipes but I’ve yet to post any using green veg. Will do in future!
      Lots of recipes to get through 🙂

Leave a Reply

